Erasmus Mundus Scholarships policy
The European Master’s in Transnational Trade Law and Finance (EMTTLF) has been selected by the European Commission among the Erasmus Mundus masters courses for five years. This implies that the Consortium will be able to grant scholarships to highly qualified graduate students to follow the EMTTLF Masters Course.

As from the third edition of this Master (2010-2012), the new Erasmus Mundus Scholarships scheme includes: Category A (for third country students) & Category B (for EU and EEA-EFTA students) grants. Besides, if the European Commission makes them available (as in previous editions) the EMTTLF Consortium will award a reduced number of extra Category A scholarships via the Western Balkans and Turkey Window.

Pasted Graphic

Erasmus Mundus Scholarships Categories

As for the fourth edition of this Master (2011-2013), the EMTTLF Consortium will award:

image019    Category A scholarships for graduate students citizens of a Third country (with the exception of Turkey and Western Balkans) as defined below. Third-country graduate student means:
  • a national of a third country other than those from EEA-EFTA States (Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway) and candidate countries for accession to the European Union (presently Croatia, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and Turkey);
  • who has already obtained a first higher education degree;
  • who is not a resident of any of the Member States or the participating countries (EEA-EFTA States and EU candidate countries for accession);
  • who has not carried out his or her main activity (studies, work, etc.) for more than a total of 12 months over the last 5 years in any of the Member States of the European Union nor any Member State of the EEA-EFTA (Norway, Iceland & Liechtenstein).

image019    (If the European Commission makes them available) An additional number of Category A scholarships for students citizens of countries belonging to the so-called “Western Balkans and Turkey Window” and who are not residents nor have carried out their main activity (studies, work, etc.) in any “European country” (EU Member States & EEA-EFTA Member States) for more than a total of 12 months over the last 5 years. The following countries will be covered by the "Western Balkans and Turkey Window": Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Croatia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Kosovo under UNSC Resolution 1244/99 as well as Turkey.

image019   Category B scholarships for students citizens of member states of the European Union and EEA-EFTA states, as well as to all non-European students who do not meet the Category A criteria as defined above (eg. a national from the United States that have carried out his main activity for more than 12 months over the last 5 years in Germany will be eligible for a Category B scholarship).
The Consortium will guarantee to Category B Scholarship holders that the difference between their tuition fee (14,000 €) and the maximum contribution to participation cost that they receive from the European Commission (8,000 €) will be covered with external funding from public or private institutions.

Please, note that candidates applying for an EM 'CATEGORY A' or 'CATEGORY B' Scholarship MUST complete the application on-line no later than
            FEBRUARY 15th 2011 (0:00 GMT).

Amount of the Erasmus Mundus scholarships
Imagen 1

In order to facilitate the management, the EMTTLF Consortium will deduct an amount equivalent to participation costs (tuition fee, which includes insurance costs) on the basis of a written agreement whereby the student authorizes EMTTLF to collect these sum

Important notice
Please note that as of the current academic year the number of applications by third country students must be limited to three Erasmus Mundus Masters Courses maximum, i.e., if you apply to more than three Erasmus Mundus Masters Courses, you will be automatically excluded from the selection process for an Erasmus Mundus Scholarship.

In addition,
only individuals who have not previously benefitted from an Erasmus Mundus scholarship are eligible to apply. Applicants are asked to sign a declaration confirming that they have not previously received an Erasmus Mundus scholarship in the Scholarship Application Form.

In case of double nationality (EU + non-EU), the non-EU nationality determines eligibility for a Category A scholarship.

More info
Other grants may be available. Check "Other Scholarships" section.
For more information about the EM Scholarships, please consult the
official website of Erasmus Mundus (and the Frequently Asked Questions –FAQ- section)